Level Syllabus

As of July 2020, the “mother institute” the Ramamani Iyengar Memorial Institute (RIMYI) in India, set out new guidelines for certification. We have decided to change the class names to accurately reflect the level of syllabus we are teaching from. Your teacher will continue to teach at the level(s) they are certified for.

So what does this mean to you?

If you were taking “Beginner”, that is Level 1.

If you were taking “All Levels”, that is also level 1 or a level 1-2. You may be surprised to see just how many asanas are on the Level 1 syllabus! There are more than 70! And this includes the inversions we know and love like Sirsasana and Sarvangasana, plus all categories of poses, including abdominals , back bends and more. Lots of variety here.

If you were taking “intermediate”, that could be anywhere from Level 1-2, Level 2, to Level 2-3

If you were taking “advancing” or “2 hour Sadhana” that is equivalent to Level 2-3 and Level 3.

All specialty class names remain the same.


Please see the syllabus levels posted (click here) to see a full list of the asanas and pranayama according to each level.


Our news, special events and promotions. Your portal to Iyengar Yoga in Kelowna!

Newsletter Sign Up





Copyright 2021 Kelowna Yoga House Society. All rights reserved.